Russia, Travel

WE HAVE ARRIVED!

20150201_213625
Finally here!

It has been almost a week since my dear friends Shayne (Yasha) and Pisey (Polya) and I first arrived in Vladivostok. I must say, there has been quite a learning curve. All three of us arrived without incident, safely, soundly, if a little wide-eyed.20150201_222831

20150201_225614
The cab ride in…

A round of applause erupted from the passengers on my plane. After a four-hour flight from Hong Kong, I was finally here, finally ready to start this new adventure. By the time I made it though customs and got my luggage, it was very late, almost 12:30am. I succeeded in procuring a taxi, much to my dismay. Classroom Russian and “Maica’s-In-Her-Head” Russian are two VERY different things from actual, real life Russian. My taxi driver was very patient as I fumbled my way through explaining my destination. He thought I was amusing, which is much better than thinking I was an imbecile. We still needed to be saved by our Russian “Mama” Svetlana, as I could not convey where exactly at the school to drop me off.

Once I arrived at the school, two kind guys, both called Zhenya, helped me with my luggage and finding my dorm. Thank goodness; it would have been impossible without a guide. There were steps up, steps down, hallways, card activated turnstiles…very grateful to those two.

There was paperwork to sign, keys to be paid for, and one Pisey to wake up. Yes, Pisey and I are roommates for the duration of the semester. Poor girl, I barged in on her at 1:30am, suitcases, boys, and nighttime floor director in hand. It must have been a very exciting way to be woken up in a foreign place.

After our brief reunion, I ungracefully clambered up into my bunk and promptly fell asleep. It was an emotionally draining day, both with saying good-bye to loved ones, and leaving everything I knew behind. This initial adjustment period is never easy. With any luck, it will not take that long to be over.

1 thought on “WE HAVE ARRIVED!”

Leave a comment